Bedtime Stories by Wendy Reid

Let me begin by saying that writing a novel is a terrific achievement, and one that I have yet to make. My hat is off to anyone who can complete a novel.
This is a departure from my previous reviews as it is a collection of stories, rather than a novel, though I note that author Wendy Reid is a novelist. That said, here is my honest opinion of Wendy’s Bedtime Stories, a collection of six erotic stories which I finished reading Friday morning.

Characters: All but one of the six stories are first-person narratives by rather uninhibited women, who seem sexually mature and accomplished. To say the least. Though the narrators don’t offer much personal description, their partners are often described well, like this object of desire:

He had the dreamiest eyes I had ever seen, a clear complexion, and sandy blond hair kept short. His build was tall and slim, but not skinny. He looked to be in his early twenties.

That’s from What time do you get off, a randy barmaid’s account of a liaison with a much younger customer.

We get some description of the title character in the book’s only third person account The girl next door:

She had beautiful shoulder length blond hair, and green eyes that could make any man melt. Her long slender legs seemed to go on forever and her delicious, perky tits screamed “touch me”.

The stories offer only one unattractive character — Satan, who gets his kicks in the last story, a three-parter about a woman who makes a deal with the devil for popularity.

All the characters have sex on their minds from first page to last, including Satan.

Plot: Plots are similar from story to story — designed to get their characters into steamy situations pretty quickly. They do.

Settings: These are as relatively unimportant to the stories as the plots. Characters find sexual release in a bath tub, a van, the suburbs and Hell to name a few places. Hell, unfortunately, is completely dark, so we don’t get to see the unusual location. However, the interaction between Satan and the story’s narrator is hellish enough to make up for it.

What I thought could’ve been done better: Wendy sometimes slips between past tense and present tense in her narration. Either one can work — present tense lends a sense of immediacy that works well for literotica — but switching back and forth can be a little disconcerting. It can harm the spell the author is trying to cast.

I leaned in towards him and it was enough of an invitation that he finally put his guard down and met me halfway. The kiss was electric. Soft and searching at first and then more forceful when he realizes that I am just as hungry, just as eager for him as he is for me.

When our lips finally part, we gaze into each other’s eyes and when I finally speak, my voice is deeper than usual.

It’s not a huge deal, but can be enough to make the reader (this one, anyway) go “waitaminute — something’s different.” Distractions, even minor ones, don’t help our stories.

I also wouldn’t have minded a bit of conflict in the stories. Most of them have their protagonists going happily to their various liaisons, their way made smooth by the author. It’s an author’s job to make life tough for his or her characters. For the most part, Wendy takes it too easy on hers, imho.

The exception is the three-part Devil & Mrs. Jones, where sex-addict Mrs. Jones is not happy to have to rendezvous with Satan in Hell every time she has an orgasm on earth. That conflict makes “Devil” by far the most interesting of the stories.

What I thought was good: I liked the straightforward simplicity of Wendy’s writing. She knows what her stories are about and serves it right up. Here’s the beginning of Fantasies Can Come True

Let me tell you about something that happened to me recently. It was one of the hottest things I’ve ever done and I wont forget it for a long time, maybe not ever.

Of course, the stars of the collection are Wendy’s graphic descriptions of the most intimate moments between lovers, as well as instances of solo eroticism. She uses few literary devices, no metaphors, similies or hyperbole — just gives a straight account of the action, simple, clear and direct, which I imagine is what most of her readers are there for anyway.

Even so, there is a good-natured, uninhibited sweetness to the stories. There’s no meanness to be found anywhere, except with Satan in the final three-parter. Even he seems pretty nice as the Beast goes, as long as Mrs. Jones doesn’t try to run away.

Overall: These are simple tales of lust and lust satiated. I’d recommend them to both experienced readers of literotica who are there for the thrills, as well as more tentative readers looking to check out the genre for the first time. To put it as simply as Wendy might have ~ Bedtime Stories has the goods.

Good job, Wendy!

Next up:
After Effects: Zombie Therapy by Zane Bradey
Twixt by Diane J. Reed

About honestindiebookreviews

Reader, writer, runner, dog dad
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bedtime Stories by Wendy Reid

  1. writerwendyreid says:

    Thanks so much for the review Gary. It’s very much appreciated. The slipping back and fourth between past and present has always been an issue for me, although now, I am much more aware of it and am usually able to fix it before anyone else gets to see it. There was not much in the way of plot because at the time that I wrote most of these (back in 2003), I assumed that my audience was comprised mostly of men and most men don’t read erotica for the flowery details, deep characters or plot…they want to get to the “nitty-gritty” which is exactly what I gave them. I may try my hand at a real romance novel one day.

    Thanks again for the review. 🙂

  2. Wendy, you definitely served up “the goods” in these stories. I think you’ll make a great romance novelist just as soon as you turn your hand to it. Thanks for the comments ~ always an honor to have the author herself weigh in.

Leave a Reply

